Whitefield Development Trust


The Whitefield Development Trust is registered as a charitable company limited by guarantee and was set up by a Memorandum of Association on 9 September 1997 and is registered under charity number 1068876. On 1 April 1998 the charitable company took over all the assets and liabilities of The Whitefield Development Trust which was established under a Trust Deed dated 11 January 1980.


The objective of the company is to support the work of Whitefield Academy Trust and Joseph Clarke School which are pre-eminent in the education of children and young people with complex special needs. In shaping our objectives for the year and planning our activities, the Trustees have paid due regard to the Charity Commission's guidance on the Public Benefit requirement under the Charities Act 2011.


The company receives donations in response to direct appeals either for specific or for general purposes. Projects which have been funded in this way over the years, include construction of the school's swimming pool, the Rebecca Goodman Centre for pupils with multi-sensory impairment, the Rangoonwala Library and Resource Centre, Early Years Centre and significant contributions to Phases I and III of the schools' rebuilding programme. In addition, Staff Training and Welfare Grants have been made together with the provision of Multi Use Games Areas (MUGAS) for Whitefield School Early Years' Centre and Joseph Clarks School.

Any queries please contact Eileen Stapleton on 020 8559 8095 or email on eileenstapleton1951@gmail.com.



E. Stapleton (Chair)
N.J. Brady FCA
J. Chipperfield
E. Colquhuon OBE
The Rt Hon I. Duncan-Smith MP
Dr J.C. Hogan BSc (Hons) MD, FRCP
J A Rangoonwala
C. Smart